Do what you love, make money, and save the world. #BHB2014

Wow! What a weekend I’ve just had. I’ve just attended Clare Bowditch‘s AWESOME Big Hearted Business (un-)conference for the second year…and to think that both times I almost didn’t go! Last year I wasn’t sure that I (or my new business) was “creative” enough, until I kept getting signs front the universe that indeed I was and I was meant to be there…and if it wasn’t for last year’s event…this blog would not have been born (read more here), and I might never have started my own architectural practice. This year I honestly thought that as I’d had my turn last time, it was now time for someone else to have a go, as there were limited tickets. However when they initially announced that it was not sold-out, a friend’s grandmother’s wise words would not leave my head…”What’s for you will not pass you by“, and I jumped and bought a ticket for this year’s event. BEST. DECISION. EVER. (Twice now!)

Talina-Edwards- #BHB2014 Clare-Bowditch-

The inspiring, generous, loving Clare Bowditch – the brains (left and right!) behind this whole shebang!

Talina-Edwards- #BHB2014 -panel- Danielle-Laporte Joost Beci-Orpin

What AMAZING speakers! Clare with Danielle LaPorte, Joost Bakker and Beci Orpin.

I went along last weekend trying NOT to have any expectations…but that is very difficult when the inaugural event was such a life-changing moment for me (and everyone else there!)…does the sequel EVER live up to the original? Not usually…but thankfully I was wrong. This year’s BHB was every bit as inspiring, motivating, engaging, encouraging, emotional, funny, educational, connecting, etc., as the first, but more importantly for me, it was a very timely reminder of just how far I’ve come on my journey this last year, and it reaffirmed that I’m on my right path.

My head and my heart are so full after the weekend, so I cannot give justice in this one post to the all the words of wisdom by trying to summarise them now. (I might go into some more detail in future posts). But the real secret (SHHHHHH!) of the Big Hearted Business (un-)conference is that it is NOT really about “business” at all! The essence of whole event, is that it is really about life, happiness & fun, dreams & goals, values & purpose, ethics & truth, emotional wellbeing and not just a focus on finance, ….sounds pretty good, huh?! “Do what you love, make money, and save the world” is their tagline. And really, this stuff should be taught in schools, to everyone, everywhere! How many business conferences do you know where you get to laugh and cry, sing and do “bo-ga” (Bogan-yoga), meditate, and hug your frentors? (No “schnetworking” here people!).

 

Do what you love, make money, save the world! Gorgeous lettering by BHB alumni Carla Hackett

Do what you love, make money, save the world! Gorgeous lettering by BHB alumni Carla Hackett

Talina-Edwards- #BHB2014 -Showbag Big hearted business

Big-hearted goody-bag!

Talina-Edwards #BHB2014 giving tree share the love

Such a gorgeous idea – The Giving Tree. Sharing the love by sharing some skills – creative bartering at its best.

Talina-Edwards #BHB2014-Clare Bowditch sings Amazing Life

Clare brings the room to tears by singing “Amazing Life

Talina-Edwards #BHB2014 mindmap notes #BHBnotes

An attempt to organise my thoughts (and pages of notes!) with a mind map.

So what does this all have to do with my business as an architect with a passion for green buildings, sustainable design and healthy homes? Well, it’s confirmed that for me to be creating my sustainable architectural practice in a non-mainstream way, and on my own terms, is not only “acceptable”, it is absolutely VITAL. Want to why I became and Architect? See here. And what about my philosophy? Try here.

The speakers that I engaged with the most, were the ones who were able to tell their story in such a simple authentic way –  pure communication that made their message appear SO SIMPLE, made it FEEL SO RIGHT. That is part of my vision, to tell “elemental” truths, to practice “elemental” design, and to lead by example like these inspiring big-hearted people do….and I’ve just figured out WHY these speakers such as Joost Bakker, Danielle La Porte, Fabian Dattner, Pip Lincolne, Missy Higgins & more were so able to connect with their audience on this level. They have such a strong belief in themselves and why they do what they do, that we instinctively want a piece of the action too!  We all over complicate things and have lost touch with what really matters. But things are changing. Revolution is a BIG word, and not one I’d use lightly, but if you were there on the weekend you’d feel it too….watch this space and look out for the rise of these big-hearted businesses!

Talina-Edwards-Architecture-Signature

PS A huge THANK YOU to Clare Bowditch and the Big-Hearted-Business team and to ALL the big-hearted attendees who are now part of my tribe…If you’d like to read more about the conference from others who were there, I highly encourage you to check out these blogs and support these amazing folk!

Pip Lincoln from “Meet Me At Mikes” http://meetmeatmikes.com/2014/05/stuff-i-learned-on-the-weekend/

Dorothy K http://www.dorothyk.com.au/big-hearted-business

Martine (Vintage Prints) http://viewsfromtheredbrickroad.wordpress.com/2014/05/05/deciding-to-rise/

Helen Edwards – no relation to me! (Recycled Interiors) http://recycledinteriors.org/2014/05/07/big-hearted-business-conference-2014-good-fail-happy-dance-feeling-way/

Amanda Dziedzic (Glass-blowing artist) http://littlebirdbigchip.blogspot.com.au/2014/05/big-hearted-business-and-my-crush-on.html

Amy Feldtmann http://amyfeldtmann.com/2014/05/03/big-hearted-pearls-of-wisom-bhb2014/

Tahlee Rouillon (The Attitude Revolution) http://attituderevolution.net/big-hearted-weekend/

Selina Braine (I Can Draw) http://icandrawwithselina.wordpress.com/2014/05/06/the-bhb-un-conference-has-brought-me-here-what-a-weekend/

Rebecca Jee http://rebeccajee.blogspot.com.au/2014/05/big-hearted-business-unconference-part-1.html http://rebeccajee.blogspot.com.au/2014/05/bhb-unconference-part-2-keywords.html

Lisa Miller (Multiples of Two) http://multiplesoftwo.com/you/big-hearted-business-unconference-2014/

Always Josefa http://www.alwaysjosefa.com/pieces-of-me/big-hearted-business-2014/

Gill Stannard (Naturopath, Health and Happiness coach) http://gillstannard.com.au/2014/05/13/what-missy-higgins-knows-about-wellness/

Kat McNally http://www.katmcnally.com/2014/05/rearranged.html

.

 Sign up for Talina Edwards Architecture’s monthly newsletter HERE, to be kept up to date with all things sustainable design, green building and healthy homes. You’ll also receive your FREE guide “Do I need an Architect?”

What do YOU think? We love your comments and questions, so please don’t be shy! Comment below x

19 thoughts on “Do what you love, make money, and save the world. #BHB2014

  1. manquebrock

    Great round-up Talina, you make me feel like I am back in that space of peak inspiration! I can’t wait to see what you create over the next year, you have been a force of nature since BHB2013! Rock on Sister! xx

    Like

    Reply
  2. lizblaxell

    Great job Talina, you’ve really captured the essence of it all. Whenever I need a bit of a BHB2014 hit, I’ll come straight back here. Can’t wait to follow all the great outcomes from this fantastic event x

    Like

    Reply
    1. Talina Edwards Post author

      Thanks Liz! That’s what I’ve loved about the BHB2013 FB group – we’ve all continued to inspire & support each other throughout the last year. Hope with 500 attendees our group this year will also be a fabulous creative community. Looking forward to getting to know everyone a bit better! x

      Like

      Reply
  3. Rebecca Jee

    Thanks for including my blog Talina! I think the unconference was like an oasis where we could stop, refuel, take in some goodness, before setting off again. It must have been wonderful to be able to see where you’d come from the year before! Hopefully that will be me next year.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Talina Edwards Post author

      You’re welcome – loved your summary of the weekend’s “keywords”! It absolutely WILL be you next year…this is just the beginning on your big-hearted-business journey. x

      Like

      Reply
  4. Lisa

    Talina, great wrap-up and so good to know the second time around was as good as the first :) I loved going this year and already can’t wait until next year!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Kat McNally

    Thanks so much for the shout-out, gorgeous! You captured the essence of the weekend so beautifully here.
    Apologies it’s taken me so long to visit (life with a bambino, sigh!). Love your website and blog! xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

