Top 5 New Year’s Resolutions

Talina-Edwards-Architecture

Welcome to 2014!

Ok, so I know it’s now February…but if I didn’t get a chance to say Happy New Year to you, I’m saying it now! And for those of us with school-aged kids, you may agree that now that the school holidays are over, it feels like the new work year has really commenced after the extended break! So…did you make any resolutions? A month on, how are you going with those? Here are our top 5 resolutions for the new year… but really they are just small things we’d like to remember to do each day to make the world a better place… :o)

* Live more sustainably

I think I’m forever on a quest to live a healthier, more sustainable life. So with each new year, I think it’s a good idea to make one small change… it all helps! I recently saw a great talk by Eco-Innovator Leyla Acaroglu, who talked about our misconceptions with energy use and sustainability. Her one big message at the end of the talk, was that kettles are one of THE highest uses of electricity in our homes. And how many of us overfill the kettle? GUILTY! How many of us turn it on, and walk away, getting distracted only to come back and have to re-boil the kettle again? GUILTY! So, this is one small change that I will be making (among others!) to REALLY try and be mindful when making a cup of tea: about water-use, energy-use, and getting distracted! I recently discoverd my electric kettle has a ‘whistle’ that can be switched on – awesome!  Are you guilty of this too? 

* Practice gratitude

I keep seeing all these amazing “Gratitude” journeys that people are on (blogging a photo a day about something you’re grateful for, hand-written notes in a jar to fill up, having a dinnertime ritual with the family where everyone says what they are most thankful about from their day, etc.)… there’s so many great ideas on ways to improve our gratitude and consequently our outlook on life! I think the new year is a perfect time to begin a new habit, and its one I’d like to do with my family so the kids benefit too. Do you have any little ways you like to practice gratitude each day?  


* Follow your dreams

I used to have very linear goals such as finish high school, get into uni, live overseas, finish uni, get a job, find a soul-mate, go overseas, get a new job, start a family….but once the kids came along, I couldn’t think beyond that! This year has taught me a lot about learning to listen to my heart, use my intuition more, and follow my dreams…and when you start to do that, everything falls into place. So this resolution is more of a reminder to keep on doing that, and encouraging others to do this too! Are you following your dreams? If not, why not?

* Have more fun

Sometimes in the day-to-day routines of home/work/life – especially with kids when we’re rushing to get out the door because we’re late again, I find it difficult to be a fun-mum! I have realised that we don’t seem to get anywhere faster when I’m grumpy though! So I’m going to make a real effort to be a bit more playful and have more fun in the mornings. I think that the summer holidays and the break from normal routine is already helping!  I saw an anonymous quote the other day that said “If you have the power to make someone happy, do it. The world needs more of that.” I think it comes down to learning to slow down a bit to a child’s pace, and enjoying more play. Do you have enough fun & laughter in your life?

* Dare to do something new that makes you feel uncomfortable

Being uncomfortable and uncertain is not something I like. But I’m trying to embrace these fears, as I’m learning that when we step outside our comfort-zones, we can be rewarded. None of us like being vulnerable, but Brene Brown tells us that we must have the courage to embrace vulnerability, and to dare greatly, and our lives will be transformed. (Not seen her seminal TED talk? Watch it here.)  I’m looking forward to getting stuck into her book “Daring Greatly“.  I think even little small steps out of comfort zones are good – you don’t have to start with something big – but just trying something new, or taking a different route, or saying yes when you’d usually say no. Apparently this all helps our brains with improving how we think creatively tooAre you good at trying new things? 

So that’s it. Not so hard really is it?

So did you make any New Year’s Resolutions? How are you going with them? Be honest! Please share with us in the comments below!

Talina x

3 thoughts on “Top 5 New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Happy 1st Birthday to our blog! | Talina Edwards Architecture: elemental design

Leave a Reply

